The Good Life

giulia-bertelli-196619.jpg

20 April 2017

If happiness was one of your intentions for 2017, this book may make you think again.

By now you’ve probably clued on to the notion that New Year’s resolutions are a thing of the past because they are bound to set us up to fail.

Instead we should set ‘intentions’ of how we’re going to show-up each day and what we’re going to do in order to live a better, healthier, happier life.

In The Good Life, Hugh McKay discusses our first-world “utopian complex”.

He believes we’re looking for happiness in all the wrong places and says:

“The greatest monument to any of our lives will not be in stone, but in our living legacy – the influence we have had on other people at every point of connection with the human family.

You don’t have to be rich to leave a positive legacy.

You don’t have to be intelligent, famous, powerful or even particularly well organised, let alone happy.

You need only to treat people with kindness, compassion and respect, knowing they will have been enriched by their encounters with you.”

I love this.

Not a new concept, I mean religions have been preaching this for years.

But a good reminder to take stock of where you’re spending your time and energy.

Particularly as our intentions tend to waiver as we head into the southern hemisphere’s winter.

My own interest in what makes people happy spurred from becoming very unhappy.

The lowest point was in the first two years of my twins’ life when I really questioned my decision to become a mother.

Not a decision I had taken flippantly given our children were conceived through IVF.

This is when I became convinced my infertility was a sign, that I hadn’t read, that motherhood was not a path I should take and by doing so I had set our family on a rough course for life.

On good days I’m now much more positive in my ability to parent.

On bad days I remind myself that even if they don’t have an amazing mother, my intentions are good.

My children will probably become great people and my golden parenting days may be yet to come!

After all, adult children are around a lot longer than babies and toddlers. If we’re all lucky.

Leave a Reply

